Tuesday, January 28, 2014

NEW: Frank Zappa live in Lund 1967 - 1CD - October 2

2-Oct 1967, Olympen, Lund, Sweden
27 min, Aud, B+
No Matter What You Do, Blue Suede Shoes, Hound Dog, Gee (incl. Duke Of Earl), Orange County Lumber Truck Medley

This recording surfaced just 3 years ago, and although Lund is just a 2 hour drive from where I live, I had to turn to a trader in Florida to find it. I don't hesitate to label this show as essential, being one of 3 circulating shows from the first European MOI tour, with a sound quality that's not excellent, but surprisingly good for 1967. Some irreparable speed fluctuations near the end, though.
I still list the venue as Olympen, although I've seen remarks that Olympen wasn't built yet in 1967, and that the show took place at Akademiska Föreningen.  Maybe it wouldn't be that hard for me to find out (a quick web search gave nothing), but I'll wait and see if anyone here can convince me.

01 intro
02 No Matter What You Do
03 Blue Suede Shoes
04 Hound Dog
05 Gee
06 Orange County Lumber Truck intro
07 Orange County Lumber Truck Medley

Download this bootleg here

NEW: Frank Zappa live in Copenhagen 1967 - 1CD - October 1

1-Oct 1967, Falkoner Teatret, Copenhagen, Denmark
37 min, Aud, B-/C+
America Drinks, Jelly Roll Gum Drop, Improvisations (including Octandre, themes from Absolutely Free and King Kong), Toads Of The Short Forest, How Could I Be Such A Fool, King Kong, Ian Underwood Whips It Out

Being one of the very few pre-1968 recordings we have, this is very well worth having, despite the bad sound. It may very well  benefit from some noise reduction, but again, I'm choosing to present it in raw form. Jelly Roll Gum Drop, Absolutely Free and Toads Of The Short Forest are very rare treats, and it's cool to hear the source for Ian Underwood Whips It Out.

2nd gen audience tape

01 Introduction (2:06)
02 America Drinks Preamble (0:54)
03 Amerika Drinks (2:07)
04 Jelly Roll Gum Drop (4:12)
05 Improvisations (incl Octandre) (3:51)
06 Absolutely Free Excerpts (2:11)
07 King Kong Excerpts (0:47)
08 Toads Of The Short Forest (2:52)
09 How Could I Be Such A Fool (3:49)
10 King Kong Preamble (0:34)
11 King Kong (8:45)
12 Ian Underwood Whips It Out (Removed, officially released on "Uncle Meat")

Download this bootleg here